Bratcher receives prestigious faculty award

Dr. Christy Bratcher, an AUFSI core faculty member and assistant professor in the College of Agriculture, is one of 16 faculty members being recognized for outstanding academic achievement with the 2013 Faculty Awards. Presented by Timothy Boosinger, provost and vice president for academic affairs, the awards are the highest honors the university can give to faculty. All recipients will be honored at a ceremony later this month.

Bratcher is receiving the Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award along with two other faculty members in different colleges. This award is presented on the basis of outstanding teaching of undergraduates, with nominations made by department heads, deans, alumni, and students. Honorees are selected by a committee of retired faculty.

Bratcher teaches in the Department of Animal Sciences and investigates meat safety and niche markets for beef and goat meat. Recently, Bratcher also received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the American Meat Science Association (AMSA), which recognizes young ASMA members for significant work in muscle foods research and technology.

Norbert Wilson 
Wilson new chair of committee representing black agricultural economists

Norbert Wilson, an associate professor of agricultural economics at Auburn, was selected chair of the Committee on the Opportunity and Status of Blacks in Agricultural Economics during the joint annual meeting of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association and the Canadian Agricultural Economics Society held recently in Washington, D.C. The association established the committee in 1980 to promote the welfare of black agricultural economists by representing their interests and by engaging in activities that encourage their professional advancement.